Rare Books & Fine Art

Frankfurt

0
exhibitors
0
items on offer
0
catalogues and much more

Treading new paths

A sincere welcome

Due to the Corona pandemic, there will be no "real" antiquarian book fair at the Frankfurt Book Fair this year. We have thought about how we can offer you a virtual substitute and have developed a concept that not only presents a wide range of antiquarian books, autographs and art for sale, but also reflects a little of the tour of the fair halls with many small side shows.

YouTube

By uploading the video you accept the YouTube privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Greeting

Dear Friends of beautiful books and the Antiquarian Book Fair.
 
You had been looking forward for a long time, during the run-up to Frankfurt Book Fair, to the physical encounters with books. Especially with valuable antiquarian books, especially with unique items and original fine art prints, it is these physical encounters that trigger the pleasure of anticipation: to pulling on white gloves, to cautiously leafing through the pages, to discovering rare and unique items, to the excitement to which these book treasures inevitably give rise.
 
Now you are venturing a step into the digital world with these books. Rare books and their collectors are exploiting new digital opportunities. You are taking one great step, a courageous step to which I congratulate you.
 
So don’t ask yourself what you will be missing because the halls of Frankfurt Book Fair will remain vacant this year; instead come in and prepare yourself for the digital Antiquarian Book Fair 2020. Discover book art treasures and your enthusiasm for books from your own sofa. Browse around without having to worry about fair opening hours. Peruse at your leisure!
 
I know from my own experience and passion for books how important it is for people and books to physically come together and how we are all hoping for a “real” book fair in 2021. But perhaps the restrictions this year will open up a new perspective, to the possibility of having both in the future: the annual highlight in Frankfurt and the infrastructure for a 365-day-long antiquarian book fair which comes to you in your own homes, to the bibliophiles all over the world.
 
I would like to take the opportunity, at this point, to thank those who have taken the initiative of launching this digital Antiquarian Book Fair. Such a step takes courage, money, energy and patience. And is the only right way forward this year.
 
I take pleasure in inviting you to continue browsing www.buchmesse.de and discovering the beautiful books there. Perhaps the cimelia of tomorrow. Almost certainly enough information and pleasure for a superb bibliophile autumn.
 
Yours sincerely,

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs
 
Karin Schmidt-Friderichs
Head of
 

Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

A new publication for Rare Books & Fine Art

The Schedel-World-Chronicle is one of the great books from the early period of printing with moveable types. With 1.800 woodcuts, it is nothing less than flamboyantly illustrated. For a person browsing through the bulky folios, a view is opened into the latter Middle Ages. But in the renown and attraction of this famous book, there also lies the seed of its destruction.

The author was Hartmann Schedel, a city-physician in Nuremberg. Driven by passionate fanaticism, he had collected everything that had been published or scripted during his time and on which he could lay his hands, and then assembled it under the audacious title “The World” – with just about everything that was then believed, was known or even just presumed. In the German language area, it is today known as the “Schedelsche Weltchronik” and revered and collected worldwide as “The Nuremberg Chronicle”.

For almost four decades, the German TV-presenter and correspondent Wolf von Lojewski collected “The Schedel-World-Chronicle”.In his case though as “Scattered Leaves” of different provenience and preserved quality – sometimes coloured, sometimes with ancient notes and scribblings, sometimes damaged or repaired.

Follow him on a thrilling journey of the history of a 500-year-old-book and his adventures as a collector.

Interview with Wolf von Lojewski about his new book: https://www.literatur-in-wiesbaden.de/journal/wolf-von-lojewskis-verstreute-blaetter/

Denis Scheck in the program "Druckfrisch" about Wolf von Lojewskis new book (starting at 24:57):
https://www.hessenschau.de/kultur/druckfrisch-mit-denis-scheck-1710,video-134784.html

Rare Books & Fine Art

Frankfurt

0
Aussteller
0
Angebote
0
Kataloge u.v.m.

Neue Wege gehen

Herzlich willkommen

Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie wird es dieses Jahr keine „reale“ Antiquariatsmesse auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse geben. Wir haben uns Gedanken gemacht, wie wir Ihnen virtuell einen Ersatz bieten können und ein Konzept erarbeitet, das nicht nur ein breites Spektrum antiquarischer Bücher, Autographen und Kunst zum Kauf präsentiert, sondern auch mit vielen kleinen Nebenschauplätzen ein bisschen den Rundgang in den Messehallen widerspiegelt.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Grußwort

Liebe Freund*innen schöner Bücher und der Antiquariatsmesse,
 
schon lange im Vorfeld der Frankfurter Buchmesse freuen Sie sich auf die physischen Buchbegegnungen. Gerade bei wertvollen antiquarischen Büchern, gerade bei Unikaten und Originalgrafiken sind es diese physischen Begegnungen, die Vorfreude auslösen: Aufs Überstreifen von weißen Handschuhen, aufs vorsichtige Blättern, auf Entdeckungen von Raritäten und Unikaten, aufs Herzklopfen, das diese Buchschätze unweigerlich triggern.
 
Nun wagen Sie mit diesen Büchern den Schritt ins Digitale. Alte Bücher und ihre Sammler*innen nutzen neue mediale Möglichkeiten. Damit gehen Sie einen großen Schritt, einen mutigen Schritt, zu dem ich gratuliere.
 
Fragen Sie also nicht, was Ihnen entgeht, weil die Hallen in Frankfurt in diesem Jahr leer bleiben, treten Sie ein, lassen Sie sich ein auf die digitale Antiquariatsmesse 2020. Entdecken Sie vom heimischen Sofa aus Buchkunst und Buchbegeisterung. Schauen Sie unabhängig von Messeöffnungszeiten rein. Schlendern Sie!
 
Ich weiß aus Buchleidenschaft und Erfahrung, wie wichtig die reale Begegnung zwischen Mensch und Buch ist und wir alle hoffen auf eine „echte“ Buchmesse 2021. Vielleicht liegt in den Restriktionen dieses Jahres aber auch eine Chance, die Chance, dass wir auf Dauer Beides haben werden: Den Jahreshöhepunkt in Frankfurt und die Infrastruktur für eine 365-Tage-Antiquariatsmesse, die zu Ihnen, den Bibliophilen aus aller Welt, nach Hause kommt.
 
An dieser Stelle möchte ich denjenigen danken, die die Initiative ergriffen haben, diese digitale Antiquariatsmesse zu launchen. So ein Schritt kostet Mut und Geld, Kraft und Geduld. Und es ist der einzig richtige Schritt nach vorne in diesem Jahr.
 
Ich lade Sie gerne ein, auf www.buchmesse.de weiter zu bummeln und auch dort schöne Bücher zu entdecken. Vielleicht die Zimelien von morgen. Ganz sicher Unterhaltung und Information für einen guten Bücherherbst.
 
Herzlich Ihre

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs
 
Karin Schmidt-Friderichs
Vorsteherin
 

Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Neuerscheinung zur Rare Books & Fine Art

Die Schedelsche Weltchronik ist eins der großen Bücher aus der Frühzeit des Druckens mit beweglichen Lettern. Mit 1.800 Holzschnitten geradezu protzig bebildert. Wer heute in dem wuchtigen Folianten blättert, dem öffnet sich ein Blick ins späte Mittelalter. Doch im Ruhm und Reiz des berühmten Buches liegt auch ein Keim zu seiner Zerstörung.

Verfasser war Hartmann Schedel, Stadtarzt zu Nürnberg. Geradezu fanatisch sammelte er alles, was ihm in jenen Tagen gedruckt oder geschrieben in die Hände kam und fasste es unter dem mutigen Thema zusammen: »Die Welt«. Einfach alles, was man glaubte, von ihr wusste oder nur vermutete. Im deutschsprachigen Raum spricht man heute von der »Schedel Chronik«, weltweit verehrt und gesammelt als »The Nuremberg Chronicle«.

Fast 40 Jahre lang sammelte auch Wolf von Lojewski die Schedelsche ­Weltchronik, allerdings in »Verstreuten Blättern« unter­schied­lichster Provenienz und Erhaltungsqualität – mal koloriert, mal beschrieben, mal lädiert, mal ausgebessert.

Folgen Sie ihm auf seiner spannenden Reise durch mehr als 500 Jahre Geschichte des Buches und des Sammelns.

Interview mit Wolf von Lojewski zu seinem neuen Buch: https://www.literatur-in-wiesbaden.de/journal/wolf-von-lojewskis-verstreute-blaetter/

Denis Scheck in der Sendung »Druckfrisch« über Wolf von Lojewskis neues Buch (ab Minute 24:57):
https://www.hessenschau.de/kultur/druckfrisch-mit-denis-scheck-1710,video-134784.html